h1

Honesty, completely

December 4, 2006

Maybe I shouldn’t talk about this, but I guess I’m going to.  No, it’s not about me being honest, I hate the idea of using this blog to whine if I’m going to do that, I’ll do it on myspace.

Nope this is something that came to me while I was looking at different peoples facebook albums.  Two different things hit me.  The first is that I can (relatively) anonymously look at my friends pictures that they post without telling them.  This is slightly creepy, it’s kind of like opening up your family’s photo albums for all the world to see.  Mind you I guess this is kind of the point, but still there are some people I don’t know that well who I have as friends on facebook; so maybe I should just delete them.  I’ll have to ponder that.

The other idea hit me when I noticed one of these people I apparently don’t know all that well doing something I never really thought they would do.  I realized that with facebook, myspace, and also the personal style of blogging that we’ve opened ourselves up to the world.  Now people are willing to share their stories, pictures, faults, vices, all this and more with the world.  The thing about something like facebook is that for people in my generation it is something we use to display things that we know our parents won’t see.  This may seem counter to my post on similar themes somewhere below.  However I imagine there is still some shame involved in drinking and drugs.  At least to the level that we wouldn’t want our parents to know about it.  I’m not really sure what this is about, except that I feel like facebook allows people to completely display themselves before the world.  Which for some reason disturbs me.

Just something I was thinking about.

3 comments

  1. Liam, some perceptive thoughts. It’s worth questioning the implications of technologies and means by which people can expose their lives to the masses. There is something voyeristic about it as well. Aside form the conveniences that come from it, I agree with you in that there is a disturbing elemt to it as well.

    John


  2. I think there are 2 aspects that can be addressed differently.

    In the first place there are those of us (like myself) who live and make a living online.

    We need to reach out and relate to people, telling them who we are, showing them what we do, taking advantage of the improved web technologies now available.

    Then there are millions of people who discover and enjoy being on stage – they do it for fun, or because they are lonely. Probably the latter.


  3. Hey Sante, You raise a valid point,I know there is a difference between relating and showing your business side and treating the world as a stage. I do feel though that it has gone further then that for some people. They bare everything. Thanks for the comment.

    John, thanks for the comment, I have no pretense of wisdom, however I do try to comment and question as these thoghts occur.



Leave a Reply

